How to manage returning respite residents

2 minute read

If a resident has previously stayed at one of your homes for respite care and needs to return, CareHQ allows you to easily link a new stay with their original resident record, preventing unnecessary duplication of information.

This can be done either by linking a new care enquiry to the resident record from a previous stay, or by adding a new booking to the original resident record to make it active again.

How to link a new care enquiry to a previous respite stay / resident record

If a care enquiry has been added in relation to the latest respite stay for the individual, follow these steps to link the enquiry to their existing resident record:

  • Either while adding the new care enquiry, or while updating it, scroll to the Contact info / Care seeker section and set Has the service user used this location/service before? to Yes.
  • In the Previous service user record field, start to type the name of the resident. When presented, select the full name to complete the field.
  • Continue to complete the care enquiry in the normal way and select to Save it.

Once the care enquiry reaches the stage when the resident is admitted, CareHQ will reopen the inactive resident record and the care enquiry will be linked to that record. The same process can be followed each time for regular respite residents, ensuring all related care enquiries are linked to the same resident record.

How to add a new respite booking to an inactive resident record

Adding a new booking to an inactive resident record will make the record active again. To do this, follow these steps:

  • Select Residents / Service users from the main navigation menu.
  • Select the Filter and tick to include the Inactive status, then select Update.
  • In the Search field, start to type the name of the inactive resident who will be returning for respite care, then when the name appears, select it to go to the resident / service user record.
  • From the resident record, select the Bookings (room) tab.
  • Select the Add booking action from the top of the page, and then complete the booking as normal.

With the booking added, the resident record will be active once again, and the Bookings (room) tab will show an updated history of the resident's stays (respite or otherwise) at the home.