After signing in, select your name from the main menu and a number of options are displayed:
Each User account includes profile details which help others identify the individual within the application:
You can edit your profile details by selecting your name from the main menu and then selecting Update my profile.
You can then update the above details as required, along with Send me reminders by which allows you to select your preferred way of receiving Action reminders from CareHQ.
Up to two reminders can be set for any action; see Actions for more details about managing Actions.
A reminder is a text-based note to remind the assigned User of an Action which is due soon.
Send me reminders by options:
Reminders sent by Email, SMS or WhatsApp will appear as text in those formats, while Voice reminders are read aloud by an automated voice and so could be sent to standard landline phones (unlike SMS or WhatsApp reminders which need to be sent to a mobile phone number).
The Send me reminders by preference can only be set to something other than the default Email if a mobile (or landline – see above) number has been entered under contact details for the user.
This page allows you to change your password or enable 2-factor authentication for your account. The page also provides details about your access activity under Sessions.
To update your User account password, enter your current password followed by the new password twice, to ensure that no mistakes have been made.
Please note that passwords must include:
Passwords should also be at least 10 characters long.
2-factor authentication increases the security of your account by requiring an extra six-digit code to be entered in addition to the password when signing into CareHQ.
To use 2-factor authentication, you must have a two-factor authentication app downloaded to your smartphone. There are several free options available, such as Google’s Authenticator which is available for Android and iOS.
After enabling 2-factor authentication, the next time you need to sign in you will be asked to enter your email and password as normal, and then also the six-digit authentication code currently displayed for CareHQ in your authentication app.
The code will change every 30 seconds, so if the code changes on the app before it is authorised on CareHQ then the latest (currently valid) code should be entered instead.
From the Security page, selecting to Enable 2FA will present you with a QR code which can be scanned from the authentication app on your smartphone. Doing this will link your CareHQ account with the authentication app and allow you to use 2-factor authentication next time you sign in to CareHQ.
If previously enabled, 2-factor authentication can also be disabled again if wanted, by selecting Disable 2FA from the Security page.
Your current password must be entered to confirm the disabling of 2-factor authentication.
After enabling 2-factor authentication, you will also be presented with a collection of recovery codes, each of which can be entered as an alternative to a ‘live’ 2-factor authentication code if it’s not possible to use the smartphone app for any reason.
The Copy button can be used to copy all recovery codes to the clipboard on your computer so that they can be pasted elsewhere for later use, or select the Download button to download all codes in a text file.
Each recovery code can be used once for authentication. After being used, a code will be removed from the recovery codes list.
The Regenerate button can be used to produce an entirely new set of recovery codes, which could be useful if the original set has nearly been used up, or if a saved list of codes may have become leaked to someone other than yourself.
Information about the current User session is listed at the base of the Security page, including the IP address of your location, the platform (operating system), and access dates/times.
The Revoke button can be used to clear the current session information. This will also sign you out of CareHQ.
This option is only available to User accounts assigned the Account owner role and with owner/operator ticked, and allows the user interface (UI) to be switched between Owner and Operator views.
The Owner view provides more of an overview of business activity and the details of all Locations, while the Operator view mainly focuses on the details of a single care Location (usually a care/nursing home).
Owner view allows access to:
Operator view allows access to:
Select this option to sign out of CareHQ.
This should be done on any shared computer/device after finishing work, for security and to ensure usage of CareHQ is kept discrete per individual (so that Action reminders go to the right person, and User activity is recorded correctly).